Greater London Authority elections 2021

The London Mayor and Greater London Assembly elections took place on 6 May 2021. This was combined with the Crystal Palace ward by-election.

Results for the GLA London Assembly Bexley and Bromley Constituency 

All GLA Election results are on the  London Elects website.

Who can vote in this election?

So long as they are registered to vote, people who can vote (the franchise) in this election are:

  • British (or British Overseas Territory) Citizens residing in the United Kingdom
  • Qualifying Commonwealth citizens
  • Citizens of the Republic of Ireland
  • European Union citizens

British citizens living overseas (who are not Members of the Armed Forces, Crown Servants, British Council employees or their spouse or civil partner) are not entitled to vote in this election.


There will be three ballot papers issued to you

  • Voting for the London Mayor (pink ballot paper) – you can have up to two votes on the ballot paper. Vote (X) for your first choice in column A and Vote (X) for your second choice (if you wish) in Column B. You must make a first choice or your vote will not be counted and each choice must be for a different candidate. The London Mayor is elected on the ‘supplementary vote system’.
  • Voting for the Constituency London Assembly Member (yellow ballot paper) – you have one vote (X) for the candidate you wish to represent the Bexley and Bromley constituency. The Constituency Members using the ‘first past the post system’.
  • Voting for the London-wide Assembly Members (orange ballot paper) – you have one vote for the candidate you wish to represent the whole of London on the London Assembly. London-wide Assembly Members are elected using a form of proportional representation called the ‘Modified D’Hondt Formula’

For more information on how the votes are counted please visit London Elects 

Poll cards and polling stations

Before the election a poll card will be sent to everyone who is eligible to vote.  Ordinary poll cards show when, where and how to vote.  The card is for information only and you do not need to take it to vote.

We are working to ensure that all of our polling stations are as Covid-secure as possible, including requirements for social distancing and mask wearing (unless you are exempt), providing hand sanitiser at all polling stations, equipping our staff with PPE and sanitising our polling booths throughout the day.

As a result some polling stations may have changed and may continue to be changed at short notice after poll cards have been sent out.

Changes to the arrangements of polling stations

We recommend that you check the polling station finder for the latest information before you go and vote

Find your polling station

Key dates

Notice of election published Monday 22 March 2021
Main dispatch of poll cards by Royal Mail Tuesday 23 March 2021
Deadline for nominations Monday 30 March 4pm
Statement of persons nominated published Thursday 1 April 2021 4pm
Deadline for applications to register to vote Monday 19 April 2021
Deadline for new applications to vote by post or postal proxy Tuesday 20 April 2021 5pm
Deadline to amend or cancel existing postal, proxy or postal proxy votes Tuesday 20 April 2021 5pm
Notice of poll and situation of polling stations published Thursday 22 April 2021
First dispatch of postal votes Friday 23 April 2021
Deadline for new applications to vote by proxy Tuesday 27 April  2021 5pm
First date that electors can apply for replacement lost/spoilt postal votes Thursday 29 April 2021
Deadline for applications for an emergency proxy vote Thursday May 6 2021 5pm
Deadline for electors to apply for replacement lost/spoilt postal votes Thursday May 6 2021 5pm
Polling day Thursday 6 May 2021 7am to 10pm
Count and results declared Friday May 7 2021