General Election 2017


The latest information regarding the general election results can be found on the BBC website.

Bromley's general election results.

On Thursday 8 June there were elections to vote for the members of the UK Parliament. 

Polling stations were open from 7am to 10pm on polling day.

Who can vote in the election? 

So long as they are registered to vote people (franchise) who can vote in the elections are:

  • British Citizens residing in the United Kingdom and overseas
  • Qualifying Commonwealth Citizens (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • Citizens of the Republic of Ireland

 European Union citizens are not entitled to vote in this election


Bromley has three constituencies:

  • Beckenham
  • Bromley & Chislehurst
  • Orpington

The wards of Clock House, Crystal Palace and Penge and Cator form part of the Lewisham West and Penge constituency under the responsibility of the London Borough of Lewisham. This includes the replacement of lost or spoilt postal votes.

In each constituency there will be one ballot paper - a voter has one vote for the candidate of their choice.

About four weeks before the General Election a poll card was sent to everyone who is eligible to vote.  The card shows when, where and how to vote.  The card is for information only and you do not need it to vote.

Frequently asked questions about voting

Key dates