European Parliamentary elections

Elections to the European Parliament will be taking place across the European Union between 23 and 26 May 2019.

Elections  took place in the UK on 23 May.


The results for the European Parliamentary Elections held in the London Borough of Bromley on Thursday 23 May 2019 are due from 10pm Sunday 26 May 2019.

Originally the UK was not due to take part in these elections, as it was expected that the country would have left the European Union by this date.

Who can vote in this election?

So long as they are registered to vote, people who can vote (the franchise) in this election are:

  • British (or British Overseas Territory) Citizens residing in the United Kingdom and Overseas
  • Qualifying Commonwealth citizens (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • Citizens of the Republic of Ireland
  • European Union citizens that choose to cast their vote in the United Kingdom (please see below)

European Union Citizens

At European elections, EU citizens (who are not British, Irish, Cypriot or Maltese) have the option to vote in the UK or in the EU country in which they are a citizen:

  • If an EU citizen wishes to vote in the UK they must complete a European Parliament voter registration form. Forms have been sent to those EU citizens who are registered to vote in Bromley or can be downloaded. We must receive this back by Tuesday 7 May 2019 to be able to vote in this election
  • If an EU citizen wishes to vote in the EU country in which they are a citizen they do not need to contact us. However they will need to contact the electoral authorities in the EU country in where they are a citizen. Further information can be found on the European Parliament website.

Polling stations

Due to the shortness of time, and in order to comply with the statutory timetable at these elections, poll cards had to be printed and despatched before we were able to confirm all of our polling stations. Unfortunately there have been changes to the arrangements in a few polling stations, as set out below.

Ward & Polling District Ordinary arrangement Amendment made European election arrangement
Cray Valley East

Manor Oak Primary School,
Sweeps Lane, BR5 3PE

Change to room used, different entrance in Sweeps Lane - do not  use main school entrance Manor Oak Primary School (Nursery Building),
Sweeps Lane, BR5 3PE
Clock House
Stewart Fleming Primary School,
Witham Road, SE20 7YB
Change to room used, only entrance in Witham road available - do not use Suffield Road entrance Stewart Fleming Primary School,
Entrance in Witham Road, SE20 7YB
Farnborough & Crofton

Tubbenden Primary School,
Sandy Bury off Tile Farm Road, BR6 9SD

Change to room used, only entrance in Sandy Bury available - do not use Tubbenden Lane entrance Tubbenden Primary School, 
Entrance in Sandy Bury, BR6 9SD
Hayes & Coney Hall

Victory Social Club,
Kechill Gardens, BR2 7NG

Change of polling place Bromley FC (The Ravens Bar),
Hayes Lane, BR2 9EF


Chislehurst CE Primary School
School Road, BR7 5PQ
Different entrance at side/rear of building - do not use main entrance Chislehurst CE Primary School (side entrance)
School Road, BR7 5PQ
Penge & Cator

Harris Aspire Academy
Lennard Road, BR3 1QR
Change of polling place, on opposite side of road in drama studio Harris Girls’ Academy Bromley
Lennard Road, BR3 1QR

Please note that new poll cards will not be issued, but additional signage will be put up.

Find your polling station


MEPs are elected under a proportional representation system. Political parties put forward names of candidates in rank order.  Any independent candidates are treated as a list with only one candidate on it.

There will be one ballot paper, which will be the same across the London Region. It will list the parties' names (and their candidates under the party name), and any independent candidates. You have ONE vote on the ballot paper. Put a cross next to the party or independent candidate that you wish to vote for.

Further information on how the seats are allocated can be found on the European Parliament website.

Key Dates

Notice of election published Monday 15 April 2019
Main dispatch of poll cards by Royal Mail Wednesday 24 April 2019
Deadline for nominations Thursday 25 April 4pm*
Statement of persons nominated Thursday 25 April 2019
Notice of Poll published Thursday 25 April 2019
Notice of Election Agents published Thursday 25 April 2019
Situation of Polling Stations published Thursday 25 April 2019
Dispatch of postal votes
To those applied for by Thursday 18 April & going to overseas destinations
Friday 3 May 2019
Deadline for applications to register to vote Tuesday 7 May 2019
Deadline for new applications to vote by post or postal proxy Wednesday 8 May 2019 5pm
Deadline to amend or cancel existing postal, proxy or postal proxy Wednesday 8 May 2019 5pm
First Dispatch of postal votes
to those people who have applied by Thursday 18 April
Wednesday 8 May 2019
Second Dispatch of postal votes
to those people who have applied after Thursday 18 April
By Tuesday 14 May 2019
Deadline for new applications to vote by proxy Wednesday 15 May 2019 5pm
First date that electors can apply for replacements for lost postal votes     Friday 17 May 2019
Polling day Thursday 23 May 2019 7am to 10pm
Last day for applications to vote by emergency proxy on grounds of medical emergency or work reasons Thursday 23 May 2019 5pm
Last day for applications of replacement postal votes Thursday 23 May 2019
Count and results declared Sunday 26 May 2019

*nominations must be submitted at the office of the Regional Returning Officer (London) - Electoral Services Office, Laurence House, Catford, SE6 4RU

 Standing for Election

If you are interested in standing for election you will need to contact the London Regional Returning Officer, Janet Senior. Email enquiries to [email protected]