Review of polling districts, polling places and polling stations 2021

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has recently completed an electoral review of the London Borough of Bromley ward arrangements.  As a result of the review, there have been alterations to all the current ward boundaries which now require changes to be made to the polling districts within them.

The council has no authority to make any changes to the new ward boundaries and/or names.

Bromley has undertaken a review of it's polling districts, polling places and polling stations for use at both national and local elections to mirror these changes, which will come into effect at the local council elections on Thursday 5 May 2022.

The review process

The (Acting) Returning Officers final recommendations , were approved by the General Purposes Committee of the council on 30 November 2021. Following this we are undertaking the alterations necessary to the register of electors in good time to prepare for the May 2022 elections.

This will involve the republication of the electoral register  on 1 February 2022 to reflect the new arrangements. Polling district maps and ward maps have also been updated.

 The (Acting) Returning Officer’s original proposals and responses to the consultation have also been published.

New ward arrangements

After the review, Bromley will have 58 councillors (2 fewer that there are now) and 22 wards (same number as there are now).  The boundaries of all existing wards (and the names of some) will change.  The 58 councillors will represent:

  • 15 x three member wards – Beckenham Town & Copers Cope, Bickley & Sundridge, Bromley Common & Holwood, Bromley Town, Chislehurst, Clock House, Farnborough & Crofton, Hayes & Coney Hall, Kelsey & Eden Park, Penge & Cator, Petts Wood & Knoll, Shortlands & Park Langley, St Mary Cray, St Paul’s Cray and West Wickham
  • 6 x two member wards – Biggin Hill, Chelsfield, Crystal Palace & Anerley, Mottingham, Orpington and Plaistow
  • 1 x single member ward - Darwin

Further details are available at:

These new ward arrangements will come into effect at the next local council elections to be held on 5 May 2022.

Parliamentary boundary review

It should also be noted that the Boundary Commission for England is in the process of reviewing parliamentary constituencies in England.

Under legislation the Parliamentary Boundary Commission can only consider wards which existed (or new ones that were approved by parliament), as of 1 December 2020.  Therefore, the Boundary Commission is not able to take Bromley’s new ward boundaries into account in their proposals for the parliamentary boundaries (as Bromley’s order was not made until April 2021).

As a result, the scheme of polling districts must identify and separate the anomalies between the current and new ward arrangements (the boundaries of these anomalies cannot be changed). This is to effectively manage the amended parliamentary constituencies when they are introduced (2023/2024), as they will not be coterminous with the new ward arrangements.  Once the arrangements have been introduced some of these anomaly polling districts can be amalgamated into their new wards.

Additional information

Please read the background to the review and more information to help if you wish to submit a comment.

Electoral services


Tel: 0300 303 8665

Civic Centre, Stockwell Close, Bromley, BR1 3UH