New Mayor appointed

Published Monday, 15 May 2017

Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Bromley 2017-18

Councillor Kathy Bance, MBE, of Penge and Cator Ward was elected Mayor of Bromley for 2017-18 at the annual meeting of the council on Wednesday, 10 May.

As one of her first mayoral duties she appointed Councillor Kevin Brooks, also of Penge and Cator Ward, as Deputy Mayor. 

Councillor Bance said: “It is always an honour to serve the London Borough of Bromley and an absolute privilege to do so as the Mayor during 2017-18. I am looking forward to meeting people from all walks of life across the borough and to supporting many of our wonderful charities. For my own part, I shall place a particular emphasis on my nominated charities.” 

  • Bromley and Croydon Women’s Aid provides services to anyone fleeing domestic abuse in Bromley. This includes prevention, outreach and refuge services.
  • The Bromley Homeless Shelter. A project run by ‘Churches together in Central Bromley’ to help homeless people with an emphasis on those who have a connection with Bromley

Councillor Stephen Carr remains Leader of the Council and he has appointed six Conservative members to the Executive, the council’s key decision making body. The allocated portfolio responsibilities for 2017-18 are listed below: 

Councillor Stephen Carr Leader of the Council

Councillor Colin Smith Deputy Leader and Environment 

Councillor Diane Smith Care Services

Councillor Peter Fortune Education, Children and Families 

Councillor Kate Lymer Public Protection and Safety

Councillor Peter Morgan Renewal and Recreation

Councillor Graham Arthur Resources 

Councillor David Jefferys is Chairman of Bromley’s Health and Wellbeing Board.

Councillor Stephen Carr offered his personal congratulations to the new Mayor and the Deputy Mayor and their Consorts and said: “I look forward to working with the Mayor and supporting her local charities.”  

Councillor Carr went on to describe some of the Council’s achievements and aspirations over the year with regard to its Building a Better Bromley priorities. Details of the speech are set out in the minutes of the council meeting.

Also at the meeting, the chairmen, vice-chairmen and memberships of the council's Policy Development and Scrutiny (PDS) committees and other committees were appointed. The chairmen of the main committees are: 

Councillor Simon Fawthrop -  Executive and Resources PDS

Councillor Mary Cooke -  Care Services PDS

Councillor Nicholas Bennet - Education, Children and Families Select Committee 

Councillor William Huntingdon-Thresher -  Environment PDS

Councillor Alexa Michael - Public Protection and Safety PDS

Councillor Michael Rutherford - Renewal and Recreation PDS

Councillor Peter Dean - Development Control

Councillor Ian F Payne - General Purposes and Licensing

Details of Committees and Sub-Committees for 2017-18

Picture shows the Mayor (right) and the Deputy Mayor