New Mayor appointed

Published Tuesday, 14 May 2019

Cllr Nicholas Bennett - Mayor of London Borough of Bromley 2019-20

Councillor Nicholas Bennett JP of West Wickham Ward was elected Mayor of Bromley for 2019-20 at the annual meeting of the Council on Wednesday 8 May.

As one of his first mayoral duties, he appointed Councillor Kira Gabbert of Bickley Ward as Deputy Mayor.

Councillor Colin Smith, Leader of the Council, has re-appointed six fellow Conservative members to the Executive, the council’s key decision making body.

The allocated portfolio responsibilities for 2019-20 are listed below.

The allocated portfolio responsibilities for 2019-20
Councillor Colin Smith Leader of the Council
Councillor Peter Fortune                              Deputy Leader and Education, Children and Families
Councillor Diane Smith                                   Adult Care and Health 
Councillor William Huntington-Thresher Environment and Community Services
Councillor Kate Lymer                                    Public Protection and Enforcement
Councillor Peter Morgan                               Renewal, Recreation and Housing
Councillor Graham Arthur                            Resources, Commissioning and Contract  Management

Councillor Colin Smith congratulated the new Mayor, Deputy Mayor and consorts: “I wish you the very best of luck for the coming year. We are all here to offer help and support and I am quite sure you will do a brilliant job.”

The New Mayor of Bromley, Councillor Nicholas Bennett said: “I am so pleased to be appointed Mayor of Bromley and look forward to becoming a champion for my chosen charities over the coming year. I wanted to support good causes that help people from both ends of the age spectrum. Firstly, I have chosen the Latch Project which is devoted to helping and housing young, hidden homeless people aged 18 and over in the spare rooms of local homeowners in the borough. 

“My second good cause is Careplus a local charity that has been offering free volunteer service support to those over 65 in Bromley since 1997. Volunteers befriend older people who feel lonely and isolated and often cannot get out of the house, undertaking tasks such as shopping, light gardening, transport to medical appointments and simple personal administration.  

“It is a real honour to serve as Mayor and, as part of my role, I am looking forward to meeting many residents across the borough and raising awareness of the good causes I have chosen to support.” 

Chairmen of main committees

Councillor Simon Fawthrop Executive Resources and Contracts PDS
Councillor Mary Cooke Adult Care and Health PDS
Councillor Nicky Dykes Education,Children, and Families Select Committee
Councillor Will Harmer Environment and Community Services PDS
Councillor David Cartwright            Public Protection and Enforcement PDS
Councillor Michael Rutherford  Renewal, Recreation and Housing PDS      
Councillor Alexa Michael Development Control
Councillor Pauline Tunnicliffe General Purposes and Licensing
Councillor David Jefferys        Health and Wellbeing Board

Details about Committees and Sub-Committees for 2019- 20 can be found on Bromley Council website


Notes for editors: