There are two types of listed buildings, those on the statutory list and those on the local list.

Statutory List

The statutory list is a national list of buildings of special architectural or historical interest compiled by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport. Nearly all alterations to statutory listed buildings, including internal works, require listed building consent and it is an offence to alter such a building without first gaining consent. Statutory listing also imposes additional planning controls on a property. Statutory Listed buildings are covered by Policy 38 in the adopted Local Plan (PDF - 8.11 MB).

Statutory listed buildings are graded to show their relative architectural or historic interest:  

  • Grade I buildings are of exceptional interest
  • Grade II* are particularly important buildings of more than special interest
  • Grade II are of special interest, warranting every effort to preserve them

More information on statutory listed buildings can be found on the English Heritage website

Local List

The local list is a list of buildings of local architectural interest compiled by the council. No additional planning controls are imposed on locally listed buildings but council policy encourages their retention. When determining planning applications for locally listed buildings the council expects all proposals for alterations and extensions to be sympathetic to the buildings architectural character. Locally Listed buildings are covered by Policy 38 in the adopted  Local Plan (PDF - 8.11 MB).

Further information

Making a planning application

Listed buildings - Planning Portal

Find a listed building

You can check whether a building is listed in Bromley by using our interactive map.

Listed buildings map